Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Center Fellowship

Program Directors:                                
Mark A. Prissel, DPM, FACFAS, Co-Director
Christopher Hyer, DPM, MS, FACFAS, Co-Director

Other Faculty:                                        
Terrence M. Philbin, DO
Patrick Bull, DO
Gregory Berlet, MD

Post Graduate Fellows:
2021-2022: John M. Thompson, DPM, AACFAS and Cody J. Togher, DPM
2020-2021: Devon Consul, DPM, AACFAS and Mitchell Thompson, DPM, AACFAS
2019-2020: Calvin J. Rushing, DPM, AACFAS and Bryon McKenna, DPM, AACFAS

Orthopedic Foot & Ankle Center
350 W. Wilson Bridge Rd, Ste. 200
Worthington, OH 43085
Phone: (614) 895-8747
(614) 895-8810
Email: BishR1@orthofootankle.com


One year

Program Start and End Dates:
August 1 to July 31

Application Deadline:
September 1

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form

Number/Type of Positions:
Two positions for DPM candidates

$58,000 per year; benefits provided

Position Locations:
OFAC, OhioHealth Dublin, Polaris Surgery Center, OhioHealth Grant Medical Center

Research Requirements:
Monthly research committee meetings. Fellow expected to participate in and generate multiple scholarly research projects and present work at the ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference and AOFAS summer meeting.

Program Summary/Training Goals: 
The Orthopedic Foot & Ankle Fellowship is a extensive, unparalleled one year fellowship in the setting of a high-volume private practice program led by Christopher F. Hyer, DPM, MS, FACFAS and Mark A. Prissel, DPM, FACFAS, in addition to the OFAC orthopaedic foot and ankle surgeons. Fellows will encounter a broad range of foot and ankle pathology, with a focus on sports, ankle replacement, arthroscopy, and complex hindfoot and forefoot reconstruction. Our fellowship places heavy emphasis on the development of the fellow's surgical skills. This is accomplished by providing fellows an appropriate level of autonomy in an intensive hands-on clinical and surgical environment. Individually, each fellow will have the opportunity to participate in approximately 700 surgical cases comprising over 2,000 procedures. This fellowship offers an in-depth experience within the business aspects of surgery including office management, product development, and operational efficiency. A unique one year experience designed to prepare the highly skilled foot  and ankle surgeon for a changing healthcare environment. The OFAC fellowship bond is strong. All graduating fellows become lifelong members of the OFAC family and are included in educational endeavors, publication projects, product development opportunities, and regular reunion meetings. To all of us, the fellowship is not just one additional year of training, but rather an invitation to become a member of our uniquely diverse and highly specialized family of innovative and dedicated surgeons.

Additional application materials and information can be found online at orthofootankle.com.

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2018–2019: Travis Langan, DPM, AACFAS
2017–2018: Roberto Brandao, DPM, AACFAS
2016–2017: David Larson, DPM, AACFAS, and Jeffrey Weber, DPM, AACFAS
2015–2016: Corey Fidler, DPM, AACFAS
2014–2015: Mark Prissel, DPM, FACFAS
2013–2014: Kyle Peterson, DPM, FACFAS

Educational Opportunities