MedStar Georgetown University Hospital Diabetic Limb Salvage Fellowship

Program Director:
John S. Steinberg, DPM, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:
Christopher E. Attinger, MD, FACS
Karen Evans, MD, FACS
Caitlin Zarick, DPM, AACFAS

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2020-2021: John Miller, DPM
2019-2020: Chris Kennedy, DPM, AACFAS
2017–2019: Elliot Walters, MD

MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
Center for Wound Healing & Hyperbaric Medicine
3800 Reservoir Rd. NW
1st Fl., Bles Bldg.
Washington, DC 20007
Phone: (202) 444-3059
(202) 444-0300


Number of Positions:
One one-year position

Program Start and End Dates:
August 1 to July 31

Application Deadline:
November 15

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Program Application

Salary commensurate with PGY level of the fellow; benefits provided

Position Location:
MedStar Georgetown University Hospital

Research Requirements:
It is expected that the fellow present research at a minimum of two national scientific meetings and author a minimum of two peer-reviewed publications upon completion of the program.

Program Summary/Training Goals:

  • This fellowship is open to qualified candidates who have successfully completed podiatric residency.
  • The fellowship is research-focused with more than 70 percent of time spent on research-related activities and publication efforts.
  • The curriculum focuses on medical and surgical limb salvage with the majority of time spent under the direction of Drs. Steinberg, Zarick, Attinger and Evans at the Medstar Georgetown University Hospital (GUH) Center for Wound Healing. The fellow has clinical, instructional and research responsibilities. S/he is actively involved with outpatient and inpatient care and in clinical research trials, which are ongoing at GUH.
  • Focus points: Surgical limb salvage and reconstruction; hyperbaric oxygen therapy; medical management of the complex wound patient; clinical investigation of new wound-healing technology; and retrospective and prospective survival/outcomes research

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2017–2018: Iram Naz, MBBS
2016–2017: Tammer Elmarsafi, DPM, AACFAS
2015–2016: Ersilia Anghel, MSIV, MD
2014–2015: Caitlin S. Zarick, DPM, FACFAS
2013–2014: Noah Oliver, DPM, FACFAS
2012–2013: Kelly Powers, DPM
2010–2011: Farah Siddiqui, DPM
2009–2010: Rhonda Cornell,  DPM, FACFAS

Educational Opportunities