Midwest Region

Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin

Midwest Region Officers

Jeffrey R. Baker, DPM, FACFAS
Vice President
Des Plaines, IL
(847) 390-7666

Adam E. Fleischer, DPM, FACFAS
North Chicago, IL
(847) 473-4357

Midwest Region Residency Director Mentors

Randall L. Dei, DPM, FACFAS
Columbia St Mary's Hospital; Wheaton
Franklin, WI
(414) 425-9340

Contact the Mentors

Coleen Napolitano, DPM, FACFAS
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL
(708) 216-5825

Recent Activity and Upcoming Events

Midwest Region Seeking New Officer – Deadline Dec 11

Get Involved with ACFAS in Your Own Backyard!

Attention ACFAS Members of the Midwest Region, practicing in IL, IA, MN, MO and WI.

Don't miss your chance to volunteer with the College! Are you interested in helping your ACFAS Region deliver its mission:

"...to help ACFAS members at the state and local level to provide superior care to foot and ankle surgical patients through education, research, and the promotion of the highest professional standards"

The Midwest Region currently has an opening in its slate of officers for a Secretary/Treasurer and is seeking a volunteer to fill this position.

Description of Responsibilities:

The Secretary/Treasurer is responsible for:

  • Keeping the books of the Region;
  • Providing financial oversight for Region funds;
  • Compiling semi-annual financial reports to the Region Presidents Council Finance Committee;
  • Assisting with leadership of the Region.

Have Questions or Interested in Volunteering? 
Please submit your questions or a statement of interest and your CV to the ACFAS Membership Department by December 11. The new officers will be chosen by the Midwest Region members through an e-ballot election December, with their term commencing in February, with transition time prior the ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference in May. Please respond by December 11.

ACFAS Midwest Region Meeting Outcomes

ACFAS Membership Meeting - Midwest Region: (Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin)

The ACFAS Midwest Region met on Friday, February 21 at ACFAS 2020 in San Antonio with 49 members in attendance. Bill Finn, DPM, FACFAS, Midwest Region President, led the meeting.  The Region discussions included:

  • ACFAS new Tiered Young Member dues
  • ACFAS Midwest Region support of First-Year Resident (PGY1) free membership
  • Research Grants
  • ACFAS Midwest Region recognition of Donald Hugar, DPM, FACFAS for his many years of attending the Annual Scientific Conference
  • ACFAS Midwest Region continued poster/manuscript support for Post Graduate Fellows and Residents
  • ACFAS Midwest Region reaching out to mid-level Colleges
  • ACFAS Midwest Region opportunities to support a marathon on the local level.

The Region Raffle prize winner of a $100 Amazon gift card was Michael Mankovecky, DPM, FACFAS from Green Bay, WI.

2020 Midwest Prize Winner

Pictured are Michael Mankovecky, DPM, FACFAS, and Bill Finn, DPM, FACFAS, Midwest Region President.

ACFAS Midwest Region Supports Student Scholars to the Annual Scientific Conference

ACFAS Region Scholars are funded by the ACFAS Region Presidents Council, specifically their home Regions, and are usually the president-elect of their local ACFAS Student Club. Their local Regions honor them as future leaders of the profession. The 2020 ACFAS Region Scholars from the Midwest Region are Travis (Drew) Anderson from DMU; and Trevor Page from Scholl.

2020 Region Scholars Midwest

Pictured are Drew Anderson and Trevor Page with Bill Finn, DPM, FACFAS, ACFAS Midwest Region President. Congratulations to Drew and Trevor on being chosen as ACFAS 2020 Region Scholars!

ACFAS Midwest Region Funds Resident and Post Graduate Fellow Poster Research at the 2020 Annual Scientific Conference

In an effort to support research activities, the Midwest Region provided funding to the following residents and postgraduate fellows as poster presenters at the ACFAS 2020:

The Region also supported the following manuscript presenters:

  • Effects of Hallux Valgus Surgery on Balance and Gait in Middle Aged and Older Adults
    Presenter: Katie Landry, DPM
  • Modified Midfoot Fusion Addressing Intercuneiform Instability in Hallux Valgus Deformity
    Presenter: Tyler, K, Sorensen, DPM
  • Outcome Analysis of a Three-Component, Fixed-Bearing First Metatarsophalangeal Total Joint Arthroplasty: A Retrospective Study with Patient Outcome Measures
    Presenter: Joshua J. Wolfe, DPM, MHA

Congratulations to these poster and manuscript authors on their research efforts. 

Region Goals for Second Half of 2020

  • Provide onboard training to incoming Midwest Region President.
  • Midwest Region is planning to participate in the Region Presidents Council virtual meeting.
  • Start search for candidate to serve as the next Midwest Region Treasurer.


A portion of ACFAS member dues is allocated for Region activities. Regions use these funds to further the goals of ACFAS at the state and local level: to promote the superior care of foot and ankle surgical patients through education, research and promotion of the highest professional standards. Regions also work on outreach to students and residents, helping to give them a successful start in their careers as foot and ankle surgeons.

Regions are affiliate organizations of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons. They are granted a charter and license to use the ACFAS name and logo, are mandated by their own articles of incorporation and bylaws, and remain separate entities from the parent organization.

For more information about Region activities, please contact Michelle Kennedy, ACFAS Director of Membership and Post Graduate Affairs.

ACFAS Regions

ACFAS Regions
Contact the ACFAS Region Presidents Council Chair:


Alan A. MacGill, DPM, FACFAS
Coral Springs, FL  33071

Phone: (561) 549-9090