Board of Directors Nominations & Elections

Board Nomination applications submissions have closed.

The Nominating Committee will meet in the fall to select semi-finalists who will be interviewed via Zoom. The committee will then recommend candidates no later than October 28. Electronic balloting by voting members will start no later than December 10, 2021 and will end on December 27, 2021. The elected directors will be announced shortly thereafter and will start their term of service at the ACFAS 2022 Scientific Conference on February 24-27, 2022 in Austin, TX.

The ACFAS Board of Directors is composed of eleven Fellows. Directors are elected to three-year terms who govern strategically through four basic roles:

  1. Setting the College’s strategic vision, mission, and goals based on member survey input.
  2. Allocating financial and human resources to match the strategic plan.
  3. Empowering its committees, task forces, and staff to operate unencumbered within the framework of the College’s mission, strategic plan, and policies.
  4. Adopting professional policies and statements that will shape the future of the specialty and promote superior care for foot and ankle surgical patients.

While any Fellow is eligible to serve, the Nominating Committee is especially interested in potential candidates who have demonstrated leadership qualities in the following areas and agree to the following guidelines:

  • Past service on ACFAS committee(s) or task forces(s). Demonstrated leadership as a committee chair is highly desired.
  • Attendance at recent Annual Scientific Conference(s) and other College events.
  • Board experience in other member- or donor-based organizations (including non-podiatric groups).
  • Articulates a clear and progressive vision for the profession and the College.
  • A willingness to represent the membership as a whole, thinks strategically, and works well in a team atmosphere.
  • Is independent and respected in the profession.
  • Understands and adheres to the legal duties of a not-for-profit corporate director (e.g., the duties of care, loyalty, and obligation).
  • Will commit freely and willingly of their personal time and professional expertise for a minimum of three board meetings per year, serve as board liaison to at least one committee, be accessible daily via email, and come prepared to all meetings.

For additional information on the Board of Directors Nominations and Elections process, please visit If you have any questions regarding board service or the nominating process, please contact Nominating Committee Chair Scott C. Nelson, DPM, FACFAS at or Executive Director, Patrick (PJ) Andrus, CAE at Thank you for your interest.

Educational Opportunities