SSC Sports Medicine Fellowship

Program Director:                            
Austin Hewlett, DPM, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:      
Jonathan Bennett, DPM, FACFAS
Jeffrey DeSantis, DPM, FACFAS
Gregory Eirich, DPM, FACFAS
Michael Coyer, DPM, AACFAS
Edward Chin, DPM
Jacob Jones, DPM, FACFAS
Gennady Kolodenker, DPM, AACFAS
Parkson Lin, DPM
Michael Marcus, DPM, FACFAS
Ricardo Negron, DPM
Michael Poliskie, DPM, FACFAS
Marcus Yetter, DPM
Wenjay Sung, DPM, FACFAS
David Yang, DPM

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2020-2021: Brian Au, DPM
2019-2020: Jibong Lei, DPM, AACFAS
2018-2019: Neringa Kunigonis, DPM, AACFAS
2017-2018: Jenny Lam, DPM, AACFAS

Specialty Surgery Center
15825 Laguna Canyon Road, Suite 200
Irvine, CA  92618
(949) 718-3955


Number of Positions:

One year

Program Start and End Dates:          
July 1 to June 30

Application Deadline:                         
October 31

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form

$60,000; benefits provided

Position Location:                           
Irvine, CA

Research Requirements:               
Fellow required to produce publication-quality paper on sports med topic. Fellow required to: 1. Develop own topic; 2. Preliminary research of topic for relevance; 3. Write paper; 4. Submit for publication.

Program Summary/Training Goals:  

  • The fellowship is private office based in a sports medicine weighted practice with strong biomechanics implementation.
  • Program encourages fellow to work up new patients, determine diagnostic plan, make diagnosis, implement treatment plan.
  • For proposed surgeries, the fellow determines surgical plan options, is involved in surgery ranging from assisting to skin to skin participation depending on capability, case complexity and individual surgeon.
  • Fellow either in office or at nearby outpatient surgery center when surgical cases are scheduled.
  • Outpatient surgical center has 10-15 active attending DPMs that regularly admit cases and teach fellow.

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2016-2017: Ricardo Negron, DPM
2015-2016: Ryan Donegan, DPM, AACFAS 
2014-2015: Candice Edwards, DPM
2013-2014: Kate Steklachich, DPM

Educational Opportunities