American Foundation of Lower Extremity Surgery and Research Fellowship

Program Director:
J. Joseph Anderson, DPM, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:
Loren Spencer, DPM, FACFAS
Eric J. Freeh, DO
Douglas Dodson, DO
Myron H. Hansen, DPM, FACFAS (Research/Peds Outreach)
Riley Rampton, DPM (Scientific Chair/Conference Chair)
Stephanie Campbell, DPM, AACFAS (Research Chair)
Devin Wahlen, DPM, FACFAS (Pediatric Medical Missions)
Scott Gordon, DPM, FACFAS (Trauma Chair)

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2023-2024: Kavin Lombardi, DPM and Joshua Millward, DPM, AACFAS
2022-2023: Raul Aviles, DPM, AACFAS, and Jacob Jones, DPM, AACFAS
2021-2022: Stephanie Campbell, DPM, AACFAS and Joseph Fleck, DPM

New Mexico Bone and Joint Institute
Dr. Anderson (AFLESR)
2301 Indian Wells, Ste. A
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone: (575) 434-0639
Fax: (575) 434-4148

Program Information:
Program Video
Meet the Fellow FAQ's 1
Meet the Fellow FAQ's 2

Number of Positions:

One year

Program Start and End Dates:
Start approximately July 10th through July 20th of the following year.

Application Deadline:
August 15

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form


Position Location:
Strongly encourage for applicants to visit the program. To schedule a visit please contact Jay Tee at and cc

Research Requirements:
At least one publishable paper; present/participate in the ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference; State and Regional Meetings. A dedicated research assistant is available for assistance.

Program Summary/Training Goals:

  • This program is structured to make a skilled surgeon the best s/he can be.
  • The Fellow will be exposed to all aspects of foot and ankle trauma to the knee. An extensive amount of arthroscopy and reconstructive exposure will also be gained.
  • The program is designed to teach the Fellow all aspects of practicing medicine in a changing environment. Office/surgical coding and billing, insurance and integrating into a hospital or multispecialty orthopaedic group will also be learned.
  • The Fellow who is strongly motivated will finish this program feeling comfortable with any surgery below the knee.

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2020-2021: Emily Keeter, DPM, AACFAS and Riley Rampton, DPM
2019-2020: Sara Grzywa, DPM, AACFAS and Darrick Dominick, DPM, AACFAS
2018-2019: Anthony Chesser, DPM, AACFAS
2017-2018: Daniel Wright, DPM, FACFAS
2016–2017: Devin Bland, DPM, AACFAS
2015–2016: "Tee" Adebola Adeleke, DPM, FACFAS
2014–2015: Gregory Rowe, DPM
2013–2014: Devin Wahlen, DPM, FACFAS
2012–2013: Scott Gordon, DPM, FACFAS
2011–2012: Loren Spencer, DPM, FACFAS