SSC Sports Medicine Fellowship

Program Director:                            
Austin Hewlett, DPM, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:      
Jonathan Bennett, DPM, FACFAS
Jeffrey DeSantis, DPM, FACFAS
Gregory Eirich, DPM, FACFAS
Michael Coyer, DPM, FACFAS
Edward Chin, DPM
Gennady Kolodenker, DPM
Parkson Lin, DPM
Michael Marcus, DPM, FACFAS
Michael Poliskie, DPM, MS, FACFAS
Marcus Yetter, DPM
David Yang, DPM

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2024-2025: Youngsen Jeng, DPM
2023-2024: Emily Shibata, DPM, AACFAS
2022-2023: Eugene Cheng, DPM

Specialty Surgery Center
15825 Laguna Canyon Road, Suite 200
Irvine, CA  92618
Phone: (949) 718-3955


Number of Positions:

One year

Program Start and End Dates:          
July 1 to June 30

Application Deadline:                         
October 31

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form

$60,000; benefits provided

Position Location:                           
Irvine, CA

Research Requirements:               
Fellow required to produce publication-quality paper on sports med topic. Fellow required to: 1. Develop own topic; 2. Preliminary research of topic for relevance; 3. Write paper; 4. Submit for publication.

Program Summary/Training Goals:  

  • The fellowship is private office based in a sports medicine weighted practice with strong biomechanics implementation.
  • Program encourages fellow to work up new patients, determine diagnostic plan, make diagnosis, implement treatment plan.
  • For proposed surgeries, the fellow determines surgical plan options, is involved in surgery ranging from assisting to skin to skin participation depending on capability, case complexity and individual surgeon.
  • Fellow either in office or at nearby outpatient surgery center when surgical cases are scheduled.
  • Outpatient surgical center has 10-15 active attending DPMs that regularly admit cases and teach fellow.

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2021-2022: Dana Lin, DPM
2020-2021: Brian Au, DPM, AACFAS
2019-2020: Jibong Lei, DPM
2018-2019: Neringa Kunigonis, DPM
2017-2018: Jenny Lam, DPM, AACFAS
2016-2017: Ricardo Negron, DPM
2015-2016: Ryan Donegan, DPM 
2014-2015: Candice Edwards, DPM
2013-2014: Kate Steklachich, DPM, FACFAS