Weil Foot, Ankle & Orthopedic Institute Advanced Surgical Fellowship

Program Director:
Jonathan L. Hook, DPM, MHA, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:
Lowell Weil, Jr., DPM, MBA, FACFAS
Adam E. Fleischer, DPM, MPH, FACFAS - Research Director
Erin E. Klein, DPM, MS, FACFAS - Assistant Research Director

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2024-2025: Hector Santiago, DPM
2023-2024: Kristina Corley, DPM, AACFAS
2022-2023: Edgar Sy, DPM, AACFAS

Weil Foot and Ankle Institute
1900 Hollister Dr. Suite 160
Libertyville, IL 60048
Phone: (847) 390-7666
Fax: (847) 390-9345
Email: jhookdpm.fellowship@gmail.com

Program Information:
Meet the Fellow FAQ's

Number of Positions:

One year

Program Start and End Dates:
August 1–July 31

Application Deadline:
July 1

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form
Please submit the completed form and required materials along with a letter of interest.

$60,000 per year; benefits provided

Position Location:
Weil Foot and Ankle Institute

Research Requirements:
Must present a minimum of one poster and one manuscript at the ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference and any other conferences where the deadline is feasible (AAOS, AOFAS, Midwest Podiatry Conference).

Program Summary/Training Goals:

  • This fellowship is designed to refine surgical skills by participating in a wide variety of very specialized surgical procedures that have been developed and refined by the surgeons at the Weil Foot and Ankle Institute. Fellows receive tremendous exposure and participate in scientific and business meetings with some of the most famous names in podiatric surgery, foot and ankle orthopaedic surgery and members of the orthopaedic industry.
  • Fellows participate in all aspects of research, including hypothesis and designing research studies, participation in FDA clinical trials and overseeing students in their research activities.
  • Fellows are required to create studies that are submitted for peer-reviewed publication and are encouraged to present their research in lecture settings.
  • Fellows have their own clinic for which they are able to hone their clinical skills, patient communication skills, medical/business skills and the art of surgical consultation and managing postoperative patients.

Post Graduate Fellows History:
2021-2022: Tyler Sorensen, DPM
2020-2021: Christopher Betrus, DPM, AACFAS
2019-2020: Christopher Collazo, DPM, FACFAS, and Mark Magnus, DPM, AACFAS
2018–2019: Timothy McConn, DPM, FACFAS, and Nathan Shane, DPM
2017–2018: Michael Matthews, DPM, FACFAS, and Jeeten Singha, DPM, FACFAS
2016–2017: Brett Waverly, DPM, FACFAS and Sarah Haller, DPM, FACFAS
2015–2016: Keith Arbuckle, DPM and John Baca, DPM, FACFAS
2014–2015: Brian Gradisek, DPM, FACFAS
2013–2014: Michael Bowen, DPM, FACFAS
2012–2013: Nicholas Argerakis, DPM and Catherine Feuerstein, DPM
2011–2012: Erin Klein, DPM, MS, FACFAS
2010–2011: Wenjay Sung, DPM, FACFAS
2009–2010: Kelly Malinoski, DPM, AACFAS
2008–2009: Shine John, DPM, FACFAS
2007–2008: Jason Glover, DPM
2006–2007: Daren Bergman, DPM, FACFAS and Bobby Kuruvilla, DPM, FACFAS
2005–2006: Jarrett Cain, DPM, MSC, FACFAS and Robert Fridman, DPM, FACFAS
2004–2005: Richard Schilling, DPM, FACFAS
2003–2004: Jeffrey Baker, DPM, FACFAS
2002–2003: Enzo Leone, DPM
2001–2002: John Anderson, DPM, FACFAS
2000–2001: Thomas Roukis, DPM, PhD, FACFAS
1999–2000: David Linde, DPM
1994–1995: Orlando Rivera, DPM, FACFAS