WVU Medicine Wheeling Hospital Foot And Ankle Advanced Surgical Fellowship

Program Director:
Mark H. Hofbauer, DPM, FACFAS

Other Program Faculty:
Danny Fijalkowski, DPM
Crystal Bradshaw, DPM, AACFAS
Patrick Burns, DPM, FACFAS

Recent Post Graduate Fellows:
2024-2025: Marian Kavanaugh, DPM
2023-2024: Sriya Babu, DPM, AACFAS
2022-2023: Austin Vonasek, DPM, AACFAS

Wheeling Hospital
1 Medical Park
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: (304) 243-8396
Email: hofdude30@gmail.com; sriyababudpm@gmail.com

Program Information:
Meet the Fellow FAQ's

Number of Positions:

One year

Program Start and End Dates:
August 1 – July 31

Application Deadline:
May 1

Program Application:
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application Form

$85,000, benefit package:

  • Health benefits
  • Malpractice insurance
  • Attendance of ACFAS annual scientific conference
  • Licensure and certification fees

Position Location:
Wheeling, WV

Research Requirements:
Completion of at least one paper for scientific journal; poster submission at ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference

Program Summary / Training Goals:

  • The goal of this fellowship is to provide a one-year advanced comprehensive program with emphasis on foot and ankle reconstructive surgery and trauma.
  • The faculty will include podiatric and orthopedic surgeons.
  • A one-year calendar has been established to include: weekly x-ray and surgical case reviews, monthly journal club, monthly book club, monthly research meeting, monthly case log review and quarterly fellow reviews.
  • The Fellow will attend the ACFAS Annual Scientific Conference, as well as two other CME programs.
  • The Fellow will help coordinate and speak at quarterly fellowship lecture CME meetings at the host institution.
  • Fellow duties will be: primarily OR cases and clinic on non-OR days.
  • Training goals will include: “hands-on” OR cases (approx. 500 cases); clinical instruction with fellow to be proficient and function independently in all aspects of foot and ankle care at the completion of the fellowship.

Post Graduate Fellow History:
2021-2022: Paulina Piekarska, DPM, AACFAS
2020-2021: Rona Law, DPM
2019-2020: Crystal Bradshaw, DPM, AACFAS
2018-2019: Sham Persaud, DPM, MS, AACFAS
2017-2018: Raymond Delpak, DPM, AACFAS
2016-2017: Ted Lai, DPM, FACFAS
2015-2016: Mark Bullock, DPM, FACFAS
2014-2015: Joshua Thun, DPM, FACFAS
2013-2014: Alexander Pappas, DPM, FACFAS
2012-2013: Peter Stasko, DPM, FACFAS
2011-2012: Jaytinder Sandhu, DPM, FACFAS